Dinner · Rice

Fried Rice

Tonight I made fried rice for my hubby and I. It’s one of my favourite quick meals. It is a really basic recipe that you can customize for your family’s taste. Tonight I basically just opened the fridge and fried up what it gloriously offered. The fried rice I made tonight had carrots, peas, corn and eggs. Normally I also like to add bean sprouts but sadly they had gone all bad and slimey (sadness). I don’t measure much when I cook but I tried for this one..ish.

image_2 image_3

The Kitchen tools I used for this recipe are as follows:

  • kitchen knife
  • cutting board
  • frying pan with high sides
  • wooden spoon

If you have one I would recommend using a wok unfortunately I don’t have one

image_4 image_5

The recipe is as follows, I hope you enjoy. Let me know of any variations you make and how they turn out. I wish I had added celery, bean sprouts and chicken but I didn’t have them on hand unfortunately

Ingredients:

Leftover rice (2-4 cup)

1/2 cup soy sauce

3-4 tsp rice vinegar

2 cloves of garlic minced

1/3-1/2 cup minced onions

1/2 cup minced carrots

3/4 cup peas (frozen,fresh or canned)

3/4 cup corn (frozen, fresh or canned)

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp onion powder

3 eggs

Instructions

  1. Saute onions and garlic in about a tbsp of olive oil in a medium-low heat
  2. When the onions get soft add the cubed/minced carrots.
  3. Beat eggs and add salt and pepper to taste and add to the hot pan.
  4. Once the eggs have begun to form turn up the heat and add the leftover rice.
  5. Add 1/2 cup of soy sauce and 3 tsps of rice vinegar. If you have some add 1-2 tsps of sesame oil. (I didn’t have any tonight unfortunately).
  6. Continue to fry the rice until the desired texture is reached.

Darling Deliciousness

4 thoughts on “Fried Rice

Leave a Reply

