Dinner · Pasta

Creamy Mac n’ Cheese

IMG_0633I love cheese, I love pasta… I LOVE MAC AND CHEESE!! And yet I’m lactose intolerant… oh well.. my favourite mac and cheese I have ever had is at ikea… I know.. not what you expected to hear… but it is true! I have been trying to find an actual good, super creamy and super cheesy mac and cheese recipe. I tried this one because I had all the ingredients from “Today’s Parents” online magazine. This recipe is adapted from that one. I needed a basic guideline to get me started. Next time I will add a bit more flare. Anyways my verdict on this recipe is very good. I thought the flavour was good, really easy to make and it was very cheesy (not because I listened to the recipe but because I listened to my gurgling stomach). I also added bacon to this recipe because I thought… why not… it was a very delicious touch. This is a very good basic stovetop recipe that is great on its own and very variable. I served this dish with garlic toast which my hubby made and steamed broccoli and cauliflower. IMG_0635

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp (30 mL) butter
  • 1 tbsp (15 mL) all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp (5 mL) salt
  • 4 cups (1 L) milk
  • 1½ cups (375 mL) elbow macaroni
  • 2 cups (500 mL) shredded orange cheddar cheese (or more…. )
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp pepper (or more for taste)
  • 3-5 strips of bacon diced

IMG_0634 (1)

Instructions:

  1. Dice up desired amount of bacon and cook in the bottom of a large pot until desired crispiness is reached. Pat extra grease off of bacon and set aside.
  2. Melt butter in pot used for bacon (remaining bacon fat/bits adds yummy flavour) over low heat.
  3. Once melted stir in flour, salt, pepper and garlic powder. I like to use a whisk at first to prevent clumping. Then add the milk and pasta to the pot.  Increase the heat to medium and carefully bring to a boil, stirring often to keep the macaroni from clumping together and the pot from boiling over.
  4. When it reaches a boil, immediately reduce the heat to low and let simmer, stirring frequently to prevent sticking, for 12 to 15 minutes or until the macaroni is tender.
  5. Remove from heat, add the grated cheese and stir until it melts smoothly into the sauce.
  6. Add in bacon and serve!

IMG_0636

One thought on “Creamy Mac n’ Cheese

Leave a Reply

