book review

The Rosie Project: Graeme Simsion

I was supposed to post this review a while ago, but you know how it goes. Life gets in the way… things like Star Wars marathons, Christmas baking, an hour and a half commute (on a good day), and feeling exhausted all the time…Anyways I think the best word to use to describe The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion is “SWOON”. Oh my goodness!!! I absolutely loved this book, I devoured it in less than 48 hours (If I am remembering correctly). This book is a perfect pick me up book. It is easy to read, the font isn’t the size of ants so it doesn’t feel like an eon to get through a chapter. Reading this book was as easy as sitting down and watching my favourite chick flick or sipping at a cup of orange pekoe.

Don Tillman is accurately characterized by Simsion in my opinion.. just picture a Sheldon Cooper from The Big Bang Theory that is a pinch less robotic and a pinch more adaptable. I enjoyed how every main character in this story was very different. You can’t help but hate on Gene and you can’t help but love wild Rosie.

This story is adorable but to be honest quite predictable. I knew what the ending of this book would be less than a chapter into it, but I didn’t know how the characters would get there which is why I kept reading. I wanted to keep reading because the random crazy adventures the author takes Rosie and Don on are absolutely hilarious and entertaining to read about.

This book is an easy read for someone who is wanting a lighthearted romance that is going to make them laugh. This isn’t a sexy romance, it is like a romantic comedy from the 90’s, and it doesn’t need the sex to be entertaining, however if that is what you are looking for than this book is not going to deliver on that.

This is a book I would buy so that I could read through it on a bad day with a cup of tea and hot chocolate

This is a book I would go to if I just want a smile.

Leave a Reply

