Chicken · Dinner · Recipe

Chicken Pot Pie with Cheddar Biscuits

20160612_193954.jpg

It is June… I think.. yes yes it is June and yet for the last couple days it has been drizzling and gray here in the Lower Mainland.This depresses most people, but fortunately I am not most people. I LOVE THE GRAY MISERABLE RAINY weather we have been having. I love that I can wear pants and my cozy cardigans. I love that I need a light sweater to go for a short jaunt out to the car. This weather is also the perfect weather for cozy food. Normally you would think that Autumn would be a more appropriate time to serve some hot chicken pot pie to your family… BUT when June feels a bit like Autumn I think we can make it work.

My hubby loves loves loves chicken pot pie, and I never really have. But to be fair I had only had the pies that you buy in the freezer section and heat up in the oven or microwave. Chicken pot pie with a biscuit topping was a new idea for me and it has succesfully enticed me to the chicken pot pie lovers side of the debate (if there is a debate). I found this recipe on DAMN DELICIOUS and you can find the link here. As always after trying this recipe for the first time a couple months ago I made some changes of my own to give it the ole’ Alicia twist.  I decided to add cheddar cheese to the biscuits because cheese always makes everything better. I also added some Parmesan, nutmeg and paprika to the filling.

When I made this recipe I doubled it because I decided to freeze the second one to have at a later date. My husband and I are returning to school in the Fall and we thought a couple “just throw it in the oven” meals would be really helpful when midterms, papers and exams creep around the corner.

image

Ingredients:

Filling:

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 3 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 2 ribs celery, diced
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 3 1/2 cups shredded chicken
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 cup of parmesan

Biscuits:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, cut into cubes
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup of grated cheddar cheese

 

Recipe:

Shredded Chicken:

  1. Place 2 chicken breasts (fresh or frozen) into a large pot of boiling wall. Season with salt.
  2. Allow the chicken to simmer until it starts to fall apart.
  3. You can adjust the temperature according to how long you want the chicken to take. For example if you are in a rush keep the element turned to medium to medium high with the lid off. I had a couple hours on my hands so I started the chicken at a simmer on low and then raised the temperature to high about 1-2 hours before I was ready to start the filling.

Biscuits:

  1. In a large bowl combine flour, salt, sugar, baking powder, baking soda. Once combined add the cold butter. You can use your fingers to combine into the dough or a pastry blender. Combine until the dough resembles crumbs. Now you  can add the grated cheese.
  2. Add buttermilk (or milk with lemon juice in it) to the dry ingredients. Stir until just combined. Pour out dough on floured surface and form into a ball. Roll out dough into a rectangle about 1 inch thick. Cut out biscuits with a biscuit cutter or a small ramekin or a lid of a mason jar (whatever you have handy.
  3. Once you have cut out all of the biscuits (you should have 6-8) place them aside either on a floured baking sheet or on your work space.

Filling:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F and grease a 9×13 baking dish.
  2. Melt butter in the bottom of a medium-large pot over medium-high heat. (You can use oil for a lighter option). Once the butter is melted add the garlic, onions, celery and carrots. Stir occasionally until they are tender.
  3. Whisk in flour until it is lightly browned and then slowly add your liquids (chicken broth and milk) as well as your spices such as thyme, nutmeg, paprika and any other flavours you may choose to add. Cook whisking constantly until thickened. Stir in peas and chicken and add salt and pepper to taste.

Cooking:

  1. Pour chicken filling into your greased baking dish.
  2. The recipe recommends placing the filling by itself in the oven for 15 minutes.Removing the filling from the oven, add the biscuits and bake until the tops are golden brown which takes usually 10-12 minutes.
  3. I misread the recipe and added the biscuits right away and brushed the tops of the biscuits with melted butter and sprinkled some dried parsley on top.
  4. I cooked my pot pie for about 20 minutes in the oven. If you are going to put the biscuits right on top I recommend putting them in for 15 minutes and then judge how much time they may need by the colour of the biscuits and if you want you can cut a biscuit open to see if it is cooked all the way through. Please note that I cooked my filling on high for 5-8 minutes before adding it to the baking dish which means that all of my ingredients were heated through and the filling had thickened quite a lot before hitting the oven.
  5. Once your pot pie is cooked let it cool slightly and serve in a bowl, and curl up on the couch, put on your favourite feel good movie, cuddle with your loved ones and enjoy the sound of the rain as you munch on this yummy potpie

image

ENJOY!

One thought on “Chicken Pot Pie with Cheddar Biscuits

Leave a Reply

