beef · Dinner · Easy · Uncategorized

Porcupine Meatballs

20160615_203315Allow me to clarify…these are not made of real porcupines…I swear. These meatballs are called “porcupine” because of the rice in the meatballs that resembles the “spikes” of a porcupine. These have been a classic recipe in my family since I was a child. It is super easy, super quick and it is delicious! At our house we serve these meatballs over a bed of creamy mashed potatoes and we make gravy too. We also had vegetables (don’t worry mom). I usually don’t like to use processed food in my meals, but this dish is one of the exceptions I make. This dish requires using Rice-A-Roni. I usually use chicken flavour but you can also use beef.

Now is the time for me to share my recently discovered trick to yummy mashed potatoes. I  peel the potatoes, and boil them until they are soft enough where they will fall apart if I give a little bit of pressure with my wooden spoon. I drain the potatoes and place in a bowl. In the pot I used to cook the potatoes I add butter and milk/cream. Once the butter melts pour it over the potatoes and let it sit for about a minute. This softens the potatoes and makes the result creamier. Sprinkle with some salt. The butter and milk/cream will be different depending on how much potatoes you have. I would recommend a ratio of 1:1/2 butter to milk/cream. I prefer to use more butter than milk/cream so that the potatoes still remain thick and have that beloved buttery taste.

Ingredients:

Meatballs:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 package of Rice-A-Roni
  • 1 egg
  • 2 1/2 hot water

Instructions:

  1. Mix together ground beef, egg and the “rice” part of the package of Rice-A-Roni.
  2. Shape into golf ball sized meatballs.
  3. Heat 1 tbsp oil and 1 tbsp butter in a high ridged pan with a lid. Brown the meatballs on all sides.
  4. Mix hot water and the seasoning packet from the package of Rice-A-Roni together. Pour over meatballs, cover and simmer for 30 minutes.
  5. Serve over mashed potatoes with gravy. (My hubby and I prefer Swiss Chalet gravy).

20160615_203736

ENJOY

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

