Dinner · Easy · Uncategorized

Pierogi Casserole (Throwback Thursday)

imageThis recipe was recommended to me by my bbf Marla over at https://sightsbitsandbites.com/. I made it months ago and am now finally getting around to posting it. Marla was inspired to create this recipe while reading Mennonite in a Little Black Dress: A Memoir of Going Home for our book club. This was a couple years ago and I still remember that book very well. It was excruciatingly awful.Neither of us finished it cover to cover, but we still felt like precious moments of our life had been lost FOREVER. The lesson to learn from this is: It is okay to not finish bad books. If you don’t like a book don’t feel obligated to finish it. There are far too many great books out there waiting for you to sniff them out and suck up their stories like a powerful tornado. BOOM. This book may have been enjoyable for others and that is great, I’m glad that they found a book that they enjoyed, but it was not so for Marla and me. However, do keep in mind that some books are worth sticking it through, but use your personal judgement and if you want, toss that book away… I know you want to 😉

I have a lot of spare time on my hands at work, so I have decided to put that time to good use and prep posts for this blog. Right now I’m working on clearing out my list of drafts which is why this older post is making its way into your life. This is ultimate comfort food and it is incredibly easy. You can find the original recipe here. I normally hate casserole. I hate the way that word sounds, I hate the way casseroles look and smell. I don’t like that you can get away with sprinkling chips on top of a casserole. I just don’t like them. Of course, right now I am just imagining a stinking tuna casserole, and it is hard to keep from gagging… that’s just me though. However, this beauty of a recipe changed my life. It is delicious and flavourful and definitely family friendly. This is a great week night meal, and is perfect for an evening spent cuddled under blankets and watching something addictive on TV like Border Security… that show is AMAZING by the way.

Ingredients:

  • 9 uncooked lasagne noodles
  • 4 cups of mashed potatoes, hot
  • 1/2 cup of herb and garlic cream cheese spread
  • 6 green onions sliced
  • Bacon bits (either make your own or get a bag)
  • 2 cups grated cheddar cheese
  • sour cream for garnish

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and grease a 9×13 casserole dish.
  2. Cook lasagne noodles according to package instructions. Make sure not to overcook.
  3. Combine mashed potatoes, cream cheese spread, 1/2 cup bacon bits, green onion and 1 cup of cheddar cheese.
  4. Now it is time to assemble your casserole: place 3 noodles on the bottom of your greased dish. Then put 1/3 of the mashed potato mixture and repeat two more times. Top with remaining cheddar cheese and bacon. You could sprinkle some cheese and bacon between the layers if you would like 🙂
  5. Bake for 3o minutes covered with tin foil and then remove the foil and allow to cook for additional 3-5 minutes (until the cheese is melted and golden)
  6. Allow to sit for 10 minutes before cutting into it (I know it is so hard right?)
  7. EAT EAT EAT

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Pierogi Casserole (Throwback Thursday)

Leave a Reply

