Baking · Uncategorized

Homemade Flour Tortillas

20160622_195544I love Mexican food! I love tacos and I love fajitas! BUT I do not like the flour tortillas that litter the aisles of the grocery store. I hate how they stick together and then rip apart. I hate how they taste nothing like a genuine tortilla shell from a restaurant, and I hate how the edges get all dried out when you heat them up in the microwave…So I decided to step up my game and make my own homemade flour tortillas, and it was so worth it, and surprisingly easy. I found the recipe here but because I was making tortillas for only my hubby and I, I decided to half the recipe to make approximately 8 small-medium sized tortillas. You could very easily freeze these tortillas and have them ready on hand whenever you want some yummy tacos! The only different thing I did in regards to this recipe is I added garlic powder because.. um YUM ! If you are wanting some handy dandy step by step pictures for this recipe follow this link to the original recipe.

Ingredients:

Approx 16 tortillas depending on size:

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup lukewarm water
  • 1 tsp garlic powder

Instructions:

  1. Mix flour, salt, baking powder, and garlic powder in a large bowl.
  2. Add the wet ingredients and mix well until a dough ball is formed.
  3. Place the dough on a floured surface and knead until dough is smooth, about 3-5 minutes.
  4. Shape dough into sausage and roll it until it is 40cm long
  5. Divide the dough into 16 pieces of approximately the same size
  6. Roll each piece into a ball and flatten between your palms to create a disk. Repeat for all of your pieces and then cover with a clean kitchen towel and allow to rest for 15 minutes.
  7. Heat a large frying pan over medium-low heat
  8. Roll each piece out with a rolling pin until it is very thin and resembles a tortilla.Try to get them as thin as possible.
  9. Place the dough onto the hot pan and allow to cook for about 1 minute or until golden spots appear. Flip the tortilla over and cook until the underside also has golden brown spots, about 30 seconds.
  10. Remove tortilla from pan and place in large zip-lock bag or a covered container to keep them flexible and warm.
  11. Use for making tacos, fajitas, quesadillas or this Thai  Peanut Chicken Wrap

ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Flour Tortillas

Leave a Reply

