Baking · Chocolate · Dessert · Easy · Snack · Uncategorized

Carmelitas

 

20160626_202628These are one of the most addictive snacks I make. I first found this recipe on buzzfeed here and it has forever changed my life. My hubby and I came back to our old basement suite after moving all of our stuff to our new place 4 hours away. We were tired and hungry and tired of take out. It was also Sunday night so some preparations had to be done for work lunches for the week. I had some leftover caramels sitting in my cupboard so I decided to make half a batch of these delicious snacks. However, half a batch is not even close to enough. It is Tuesday and I made these Sunday night and we have only one little corner piece left. I couldn’t control myself. I just had to eat and eat and eat these. I think what really hooks me is the oozing caramel! I love caramel and yes I know this recipe uses a cheater caramel it doesn’t matter because it is so good!

Ingredients:20160626_193958

  • 2 cups Oats
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup melted butter
  • 2 1/2 cups chocolate chips
  • 50 soft caramels (unwrapped)
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. Line a 9×13 baking dish with parchment paper and spray with non-stick spray. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl mix together oats, flour, brown sugar, baking soda and salt. Once well combined add melted butter and mix until combined. It will look crumbly.
  4. Pour out half of the oat mixture into your prepared dish. Press down to create the first yummy layer.
  5. Sprinkle 2 cups of chocolate chips (I use milk chocolate) all over the bottom layer of the carmelitas.
  6. In a sauce pan melt the caramels and heavy cream together. Mix until smooth and completely melted. Pour over the chocolate chips and bottom layer of carmelitas.
  7. Pour the rest of the oat mixture over top of the caramel evenly.
  8. Add the rest of the chocolate chips or a little bit more if you like.
  9. Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes until the crust is golden brown.
  10. Allow to cool completely.
  11. ENJOY I know you have waited SOOO long!

20160626_202628

Leave a Reply

