beef · Dinner · Easy · Pasta · quick · Uncategorized

Homemade Hamburger Helper

20160626_175532I came home to an empty house this weekend. And when I mean empty I mean no furniture and your voice echoes kind of empty. My husband and I moved to our new suite this weekend, and still have one week left in our old place. We have all of our stuff moved into our new place which means our old place is just empty and sad looking. It is no longer home… just a couple walls and a blow up mattress. After a long busy weekend my muscles were sore and my stomach was grumbling especially after our 4 hour drive back home. I’m trying to use up as much as I can of what is left in our fridge and freezer before we leave and so I got thinking.
I got inspired by the weird show on the Food 20160626_175615Network Cutthroat Kitchen. We finally have cable at the new place, so I got to watch some of my favourite channel. On Cutthroat Kitchen. The contestants had to make hamburger mac and cheese. I grew up on this stuff but it was called Hamburger Helper and it came from a box and we got to eat this delicious yellow mass when mom was away and dad was in charge of feeding my sister and I.  Since watching the episode I had been craving that cheesy goodness, but I wanted real cheese flavour, so I found an awesome recipe here at Big Bear’s Wife. I followed the recipe to a “T” except that I added some parmesan cheese and I used cheddar cheese instead of Colby Jack, and I simmered the whole mixture together after melting the cheese because I wanted the sauce to thicken up more than it had.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 2 cups elbow macaroni
  • 4 cups beef broth
  • 1 cup milk
  • 4 cups grated cheese
  • 1/2 tablespoon no salt seasoning
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1/3 cup of parmesan

Instructions:

  1. Season  (with garlic powder and no salt seasoning) and brown ground beef in a large skillet with high sides. When the meat has cooked drain leftover fat.
  2. Now it is time for the liquids. Add beef broth and macaroni and allow to cook for about 20 minutes on simmer. Stir occasionally.
  3. Once the pasta is tender combine the milk in the skillet. Now it is my favourite time…cheese time. Add the cheese and keep stirring until melted. Taste to make sure it is cheesy enough for you.
  4. I then simmered my hamburger helper for about 7 minutes until it had thickened to my preference.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Homemade Hamburger Helper

Leave a Reply

