Baking · Healthy · Uncategorized

Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread

20160924_170214It has been a very long while since I last wrote up a post, and that is because life gets crazy… doesn’t it?  I know you know what I am talking about. Lately I have been trying to incorporate some more healthful recipes into my husband and I’s diet. I’ve also been trying to keep our budget under control, and because of that I have been trying to be a lot more self-sufficient.20160924_154722

I tried this recipe from the Looneyspoons cookbook. In this cookbook the recipe is called “Another One Bites the Crust”. I’ve been trying out a couple of bread recipes and my goal is to find a recipe that balances time and taste. This bread is delicious and reminds me of the honey oat bread at Subway, which just happens to be my top pick from there.

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 packages of active dry yeast
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 3/4 cup warm milk
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3-4 cups all purpose flour

Instructions:

  1. Combine yeast, sugar and 1/2 cup warm water in a bowl. Let it sit for 10 minutes.
  2. In a large bowl combine milk, 1 cup warm water, honey, oil, and salt. Add yeast mixture.
  3. Using an electric mixer beat all the whole wheat flour into the liquids. Use a wooden spoon to stir in enough of the all purpose flour to make a dough that isn’t too sticky. Knead the dough for 6-7 minutes (I used my bread hook attachment and kneaded it with that).
  4. Spray a large bowl with non-stick spray and place the dough inside. Cover the bowl and allow the dough to rise for 45 minutes.
  5. When the dough has risen so that it is doubled in size punch the dough down. Divide the dough in half and shape each half into loaves. Place in loaf pans that have been sprayed with non-stick spray. Cover and let rise for another 40 minutes or so. Don’t let the dough rise over the edge of the loaf pan.
  6. I sprinkled some oats onto the top of the loaves and brushed the tops with melted butter. Bake at 375 degrees for 35-40 minutes until the crust is golden brown.
  7. Once baked remove from pans and allow them to cool.
  8. This recipe makes two loaves. I put one in the freezer so I have bread for about 2 weeks.

20160924_162730

2 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread

Leave a Reply

