seasonal · Side · Uncategorized · Vegetables

Autumn Salad

20161018_175237Fall is my favourite time of year. I love all the flavors and rainy weather. I love getting cozy in sweaters and drinking gallons of tea. The leaves have started to fall and the air is crisp. I get to now wear my coat and fluffy scarf. I’ve been binge watching Downton Abbey so I couldn’t be more emotional.

I was inspired by a recipe I found on Tastemade that luckily popped up on my Facebook page! I made this salad as a side for a dinner. This is a delicious seasonal dish! I really enjoyed the salad. It was a great balance between sweet and a bit of tang. I didn’t have any spinach, so I used some green lettuce.

I followed the recipe exactly.  You can find the recipe here. This could easily be made into a full dinner salad with some grilled chicken or steak. Instead of using granny smith apples I used some fresh Spartan apples I had gotten from a market.

Ingredients:

Dressing:

  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp Dijon Mustard
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper

Topping:

  • grilled chicken (if preferred)
  • 1 apple sliced
  • red onion thinly sliced
  • toasted pecans
  • salad green of your choice

Instructions:

  1. Toast pecans and set aside.
  2. Combine all of the dressing ingredients.
  3. Thinly slice apple and red onion to top your salad.
  4. Toss salad with pecans and as much dressing as you prefer.

 

Leave a Reply

