seasonal · Uncategorized

Halloween Sugar Cookies

20161031_171605.jpgS20161031_110709.jpgugar cookies are one of the funnest cookies to decorate and bake. I’ve recently got interested in cookie and cake decorating. I don’t have any professional tools yet, but I’m having fun with it. Last Christmas I received a set of cookie cutter sets, and I decided to make mummies out of gingerbread cookie cutters, pumpkins and candies. My husband and I decorated these cookies and put together goodie bags for our landlord’s children. We decorated the bags with Halloween stickers. We filled the bags with M&Ms so they were like a bed for the cookies to rest upon. It was a lot of fun to put these bags together, and got me inspired to consider the idea of entering a craft fair.mummy-cookie

20161031_110624.jpgSugar cookies are one of my favourite cookies because they are so versatile. Since I was young I always associated sugar cookies with holidays such as Christmas, Halloween, valentine’s day etc. My mom would make sugar cookies and my sister and I would ice them and decorate them with sprinkles and chocolate chips. I love those memories. I use buttercream icing for these cookies. It is a classic from childhood. My mother and now I use the Roger’s Icing Recipe.

Ingredients:

Sugar Cookie Dough:

  • 1 cup salted butter
  • 1 1/2 cup icing sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar

Butter Cream Icing:

  • 1/2 cup of salted butter
  • 2 cups of icing sugar, 1 cup icing sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 Tbsp milk
  • Variety in food colouring

Instructions:

Cookies:

  1. Cream butter and icing sugar. Add egg and vanilla. Add flour, baking soda and cream of tartar.
  2. Set in fridge 2-3 hours. Roll 1/2 at a time and cut out cookies, but not too thick.
  3. Preheat oven to 375 degrees and bake for 7-8 minutes.
  4. Allow cookies to cool before icing.

Icing:

  1. Cream 1/2 cup of softened butter with 2 cups of icing sugar. I found it most helpful to use my paddle attachment on my KitchenAid. Add the vanilla and milk as well as the additional cup of icing sugar.
  2. Gradually add 1-2 Tbsp of milk to achieve the consistency you are looking for.

 

Leave a Reply

