Dinner · Easy · Healthy · quick · Uncategorized

Turkey Meatloaf Cups

20161123_190806.jpgMonths ago I saw this video (here) on facebook and I tried it out. I liked that the recipe used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I thought it was a healthier option and one that I could feel proud about making. I also loved that it is cooked in a muffin tin which in my opinion makes them perfect for packing in lunches. The first time I made this recipe I followed it to a “T”, but this time I adapted it slightly. My husband and I didn’t like the sun-dried tomatoes in it so I skipped that ingredient. I have also been trying to eat more vegetables and have been trying to do the #halfyourplate challenge. This challenge consists of trying to make sure that half your plate is vegetables/fruit. When it comes to vegetables I really love them, but sometimes it just feels like another element to use and another thing to cook. I prefer to either steam my veggies until a fork can just barely stick through or roast the vegetables in the oven. I have a steamer insert that fits into most of my pots so that I can use it even when I am already using most of my pots for the recipe. I love this steamer. I had to live without it for a while last month because we sent our pots back for warranty and it was about a month until we got our new set. I am very grateful now to have a full set of pots at my fingertips. I will be sharing the recipe how I made it. If you want the original recipe you can click on the  link at the top of the page. 20161123_190910.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 egg
  • chopped basil
  • grated mozzarella
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:20161123_190811.jpg

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and spray a muffin tin (I filled 12 muffin cups)
  2. Mix together ingredients together in a bowl.
  3. Split the meatloaf mixture between the 12 muffin cups.
  4. Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes until completely cooked.
  5. I served these meatloaf cups with mashed potatoes, carrots and gravy.
  6. ENJOY!

 

Leave a Reply

